Call Your Daughter Home (Original)

Deb Spera (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships April 7th

Description

Featured on Oprah's Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company."
-- O, The Oprah Magazine

"A mesmerizing Southern tale...Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored."
-- Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

Product Details

Price: $17.98  $16.54
Publisher: Park Row
Published Date: April 07, 2020
Pages: 384
ISBN: 9780778309796
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Deb Spera was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and lives in Los Angeles. She owns her own television company, One-Two Punch Productions, and has executive produced such shows as Criminal Minds and Army Wives. Her work's been published in Sixfold, Garden and Gun, and Yoga Journal. CALL YOUR DAUGHTER HOME is her first novel.