Bum Rap

Paul Levine (Author)
Available

Description

A mysterious bar-girl goes missing from a South Beach club...
A Russian gangster is shot dead...
And Steve Solomon holds the smoking gun.


Can Lassiter get Solomon off the hook?

BUM RAP brings together Jake Lassiter with squabbling Miami lawyers Steve Solomon and Victoria Lord. In a tale filled with twists and turns, Lassiter digs deep into the underbelly of glitzy South Beach to defend a client who's not telling him the truth.

"The pages fly by and the laughs keep coming in this irresistible South Florida romp. A delicious mix of thriller and comic crime novel." - Booklist (starred review)

Who reads the Lassiter series? Fans of John Grisham, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, Scott Pratt, Carl Hiaasen, and Lisa Scottoline love the crackling courtroom drama, breathtaking suspense, intimate personal stories, and wicked humor, too.

All the Jake Lassiter books are stand-alones that may be enjoyed in any order.

Product Details

Price
$17.95  $16.51
Publisher
Herald Square Publishing
Publish Date
December 23, 2019
Pages
342
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.76 X 8.25 inches | 0.93 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780578628509

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

The author of twenty-two novels, Paul Levine won the John D. MacDonald Fiction Award and has been nominated for the Edgar, Macavity, International Thriller, Shamus, and James Thurber prizes. A former trial lawyer, he also wrote twenty episodes of the CBS military drama JAG and co-created the Supreme Court drama First Monday starring James Garner and Joe Mantegna. The international bestseller, To Speak for the Dead, was his first novel and introduced readers to linebacker-turned-lawyer Jake Lassiter. Bum Rap was an Amazon Number One Bestseller. He is also the author of the critically acclaimed Solomon vs. Lord series of legal capers. His latest book is Cheater's Game, which digs deep into the college admissions scandal. He divides his time between Santa Barbara and Miami. For more information, visit his website at paul-levine.com or his Amazon Author Page at amazon.com/Paul-Levine/e/B000APPYKG/ or follow him on Facebook at facebook.com/PaulLevineAuthorPage/ or on Twitter @Jake_Lassiter

Reviews

PRAISE FOR "BUM RAP"

"'Bum Rap' is one of those rarities: a thriller that is fun but still ever-so-gently makes you care about the characters. Welcome back, Mr. Levine, and thanks for bringing such an excellent book with you." --Bookreporter

"Levine cleverly brings together all three of the heroes from his two legal-thriller series: Jake Lassiter and Solomon and Lord...The pages fly by, and the laughs keep coming in this irresistible south-Florida romp. A delicious mix of thriller and comic crime novel." -- Booklist (starred review)

"Take some Russian mobsters, a mysterious jeweler, a murder, the disappearance of a bar girl and add a hilarious romp through Miami and this is really one to take to the beach." - Amazon 5-star review

"Levine effectively blends a puzzling crime, intelligent sleuthing, adroit courtroom maneuvering...in this welcome addition to both series." -- Publishers Weekly

"...Ebulliently seamless melding of Levine's two legal-eagle series." -- Kirkus

"'Bum Rap' is Jake Lassiter's greatest adventure as the tough-guy lawyer defends a murder trial with a fibbing client, a missing bar-girl and the Russian Mafia, all set in glitzy South Beach." -- Harlan Coben

"A highly entertaining look at the law, South Florida style. Levine deftly blends the characters from his two series into a seamless plot with plenty of twists. Jake, Steve, and Victoria make a formidable and amusing trio." -- Oline Cogdill, Sun-Sentinel

PRAISE FOR THE JAKE LASSITER SERIES


"Take one part John Grisham, two parts Carl Hiaasen, throw in a dash of John D. MacDonald, and voilà, you've got Jake Lassiter." --Tulsa World

"Jake Lassiter is great fun." --New York Times Book Review

"Lively entertainment. Lassiter is attractive, funny, savvy, and brave." -- Chicago Tribune

"Mystery writing at its very, very best." -- USA Today

"Jake Lassiter is the lawyer we all want on our side, and on the page." -- Lee Child

"Paul Levine is one of Florida's great writers, and 'Lassiter' is his greatest creation. It's funny, smart, and compelling." -- Dave Barry

"The legal excellence of a Grisham thriller with the highwire antics of Carl Hiaasen." -- David Morrell

"Levine's prose gets leaner, meaner, better with every book...And Jake Lassiter has a lot more charisma than Perry Mason ever did." - Miami Herald

"Another enjoyable, breathless thriller."- South Florida Sun-Sentinel

"Filled with smart writing and smart remarks."- Dallas Morning News

"Enough courtroom shenanigans to please even the most stalwart John Grisham fan."-Lansing State Journal