Bride of the Sea

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
Tin House Books
Publish Date
Pages
312
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 0.8 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781951142452

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Eman Quotah grew up in Jidda, Saudi Arabia, and Cleveland, Ohio. Her writing has appeared in the Washington Post, USA Today, The Toast, The Establishment, Book Riot, and other publications. She lives with her family near Washington, D.C.

Reviews

This lovely novel traces the life of a young woman caught between parents and cultures, from Saudi Arabia to America, and brings both worlds to life in all their complexities.--Shilpi Somaya Gowda, author of The Shape of Family
For fans of Mohsin Hamid and Min Jin Lee, this debut from Arab-American author Eman Quotah, which spans four decades and two continents, will satisfy anyone looking for their next sweeping family saga.--Chicago Review of Books
Quotah's deft characterization and pacing, combined with an inside look at Saudi Arabian life, make this debut a compelling and worthy read.--Booklist, Starred Review
A beautifully intricate family drama about a young woman torn between her parents and two worlds.--PopSugar
Alluring. . . . Quotah's resonant, neatly plotted outing will be a treat for readers who love fractured family dramas.--Publishers Weekly
A rich, finely rendered novel.--Kirkus Reviews
A spellbinding debut of colliding cultures, immigration, religion and family; an intimate portrait of loss and healing; and, ultimately, a testament to the ways we find ourselves inside love, distance and heartbreak.--Bookreporter
Bride of the Sea is a gem.--Book Page
Bride of the Sea is a marvel. Eman Quotah has such compassion for her characters--especially the unforgettable Hannah--while uncovering new ideas about pacing and structure. This is an intricately realized novel that honors every place it depicts.--Rakesh Satyal, author of No One Can Pronounce My Name