Black Water

Available

Product Details

Price
$18.00  $16.56
Publisher
Picador USA
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.6 X 1.0 X 8.7 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781250141026
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

LOUISE DOUGHTY is the author of several novels, including Apple Tree Yard (Sarah Crichton Books/FSG), which was a top-ten bestseller in the U.K. and Ireland and has been published or is being translated into twenty-two languages. It was long-listed for The Guardian's Not the Booker Prize and short-listed for the CWA Steel Dagger Award and the National Book Awards Crime/Thriller of the Year.

Reviews

"Doughty's excellent new novel is a character study, a glimpse at mid-century American civil rights, a thriller, a meditation on the effects of foreign policy on individuals, a modern love story and a portrait of Indonesian unrest in the twentieth century.... If it sounds like a handful, it is. But Doughty has found an ideal vehicle for her wide-ranging interests." --Olen Steinhauer, The New York Times Book Review

"Doughty's language is punchy, visually striking and emotionally potent.... This is a compelling and vivid psychological drama, with plenty of bite." --Leyla Sanai, The Guardian

"Skilfully drawn and compelling...This serious novel marks a departure for Doughty, whose psychological thrillers, including Apple Tree Yard, have been so successful. This one strays more into le Carrรฉ territory-- where she seems equally at home." --Carla McKay, Daily Mail

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carrรฉ." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Doughty takes a page from John le Carrรฉ, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. . . richly detailed . . . [T]he role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre." --Library Journal (starred review)

"Through Harper, Doughty creates a jarringly realistic backdrop of Indonesia's violent past, sharply contrasting the menacing atmosphere with a growing romance and Harper's memories of a vulnerable childhood in 1950s Los Angeles. A tense, contemplative literary thriller and worthy follow-up to Doughty's critically acclaimed Apple Tree Yard (2013)." --Booklist

"Doughty has created a novel comparable to Graham Greene's masterpiece The Quiet American in its taut exploration of morality on a geopolitical and personal scale.... The plot is complex and delves into dark, unjustly forgotten corners of history...as much a character study as it is an espionage thriller.... Black Water is a gripping thriller, incisive character study, a critique of US foreign policy and a love story haunted by the 1965 massacres in Indonesia." --Shelf Awareness

PRAISE FOR APPLE TREE YARD

"Doughty is a brilliant storyteller who knows how to build the suspense to a breaking point." --Kate Saunders, The Times (London)

"Doughty writes with consummate pacing and psychological acuity, bringing fresh force to a common regret of adulterous lovers." --The New Yorker

"A disquieting, perceptive and gripping read." --Amber Pearson, Daily Mail

"Extraordinary...I've never read anything like it." --Ruth Rendell, The Guardian