Big Girl, Small Town

Michelle Gallen (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Dec 01, 2020

Description

"Darkly hilarious . . . Wildly entertaining." --The Guardian

Meet Majella O'Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls

Majella is happiest out of the spotlight, away from her neighbors' stares and the gossips of the small town in Northern Ireland where she grew up during the Troubles. She lives a quiet life caring for her alcoholic mother, working in the local chip shop, watching the regular customers come and go. She wears the same clothes each day (overalls, too small), has the same dinner each night (fish and chips, microwaved at home after her shift ends), and binge-watches old videotapes of the same show (Dallas, best show on TV) from the comfort of her bed.

But underneath Majella's seemingly ordinary life are the facts that she doesn't know where her father is and that every person in her town has been changed by the lingering divide between Protestants and Catholics. When Majella's predictable existence is upended by the death of her granny, she comes to realize there may be more to life than the gossips of Aghybogey, the pub, and the chip shop. In fact, there just may be a whole big world outside her small town.

Told in a highly original voice, with a captivating heroine readers will love and root for, Big Girl, Small Town will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and accessible literary fiction with an edge.

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
Algonquin Books
Publish Date
December 01, 2020
Pages
320
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781643750897
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Michelle Gallen was born in County Tyrone in the mid 1970s and grew up during the Troubles a few miles from the border between what she was told was the"'Free" State and the "United" Kingdom. She studied English literature at Trinity College Dublin and won several prestigious prizes as a young writer. Following a devastating brain injury in her midtwenties, she co-founded three award-winning companies and won international recognition for digital innovation. She now lives in Dublin with her husband and kids.

Reviews

"A darkly hilarious novel about small-town life . . . Wildly entertaining." --The Guardian

"Sinead Moriarty's endorsement 'Milkman meets Derry Girls' is as accurate as you'll get. But Big Girl, Small Town is even funnier than Derry Girls, while being just as fraught as Anna Burns's Booker Prize winner." --The Irish Independent

"Engaging and satisfying." --The Daily Mail

"A confident debut with a very memorable protagonist." --The Irish Times

"Engrossing." --Image magazine (One of 8 "Must Reads" of 2020)

"Bawdy yet beautiful . . . I grew extraordinarily attached to Majella." --Sara Baume, author of A Line Made by Walking