Beyond the Red

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Sky Pony
Publish Date
Pages
360
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.3 X 1.3 inches | 1.01 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781634506441

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ava Jae is a Latinx tomboy who writes YA speculative fiction featuring marginalized characters grappling with identity. When they aren't working on their next book, completing freelance editorial work, or buried under their TBR pile, you'll likely find them on Twitter at @Ava_Jae, where they talk about the importance of representation and throw book recommendations at anyone who will listen. They are also the author of the upcoming Into the Black, the second book in the Beyond the Red trilogy. They reside in Boston, MA.

Reviews

Kora is the first female ruler of the Sepharon in generations, but her ambitious twin brother, Dima, wants to rule in her stead. To that end, he is willing to do anything, including framing Kora for an assassination attempt on her fiancΓ©, Serek. Meanwhile, Kora has taken as bodyguard and confidant the half blood Eros, whose mixed race makes him a pariah among both the nomadic human rebels of the planet and the citydwelling alien Sepharon, a tall, strong humanoid race with patterned skin, notched ears, and purple blood. In alternating chapters narrated by Eros and Kora, Jae spins a cinematic tale of forbidden love and Machiavellian politics. With detailed history, architecture, customs, inventions, and landscape, Jae creates a fascinating new world to explore. The breathless pace of the plot, smoldering romance between Kora and Eros, and inventive yet comfortably familiar world will engage science fiction and romance readers alike. A true cliff-hanger ending guarantees a sequel. Blogger and college student Jae has laid the groundwork for an entertaining series. --Booklist

Jae's debut novel introduces a unique alien world with a thrilling plot full of twists that are bound to appeal to sci-fi fans, particularly admirers of Avatar and Star Wars. The fast-paced and intense plotlines introduce deep concepts including segregation, homosexuality, and racism; however, the concepts and characters are not fully developed. The author builds a beautifully conceived world with unique details, such as language quirks, an alien monarch ruling system, and special meaning for phrases such as golden eyes. The fun and engaging plot is predictable but enjoyable. VERDICT: An engaging and amusing read for fans of sci-fi romance. -- School Library Journal

Jae's smooth worldbuilding and solid pacing make this a highly readable SF romance. Jae engages with the brutality of her setting and doesn't spare the central characters, who suffer terrible losses. --Publishers Weekly

Ava Jae's Beyond the Red is a sand-swept fantasy of court politics, rebel attacks, and forbidden romance. While reading, I had flashes of Star Wars--a new planet, a fascinating culture, a fresh look on a ruler struggling to keep her power--and I had to know what happened next. Dangerous, exciting, and fast-paced, Beyond the Red is a story not to be missed." --Francesca Zappia, author of Made You Up

"Packed with political intrigue and smoldering romance, Beyond the Red left me craving more of Kora's and Eros's story and the unique, fascinating universe that Ava Jae has created." --Sarah Harian, author of The Wicked We Have Done

"Beyond the Red is a sweeping, compelling romance in a complicated and gritty world. Intrigue and heart on every page--I couldn't put it down. I'll be following Ava Jae to see what comes next!" --Kate Brauning, author of How We Fall

"I loved this book! I couldn't put it down! What a fantastic debut, perfect for fans of Firefly and Star Wars. Ava Jae's Beyond the Red packs a punch, a total thrill ride that will keep readers turning the pages. I stayed up all night reading it. From page one, I was sucked in. Jae's writing style is a perfect mix of stop and go, and her world comes to life within the first few pages. The action was power-packed, and the star-crossed romance had me begging for more by the end." --Lindsay Cummings, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Zenith

"Ava Jae has built such an interesting world in Beyond the Red. With forbidden romance, gritty action, and thrilling danger, this debut is one to watch. And here's hoping for a sequel!" --S. E. Green, award-winning author of the Killer Instinct series

"I loved Beyond the Red! Ava Jae's science fiction world-building is a perfect blend of a fantastic, foreign alien civilization and achingly human desires all packed into an explosive mix. I couldn't help but root for crafty Kora as she navigated court politics, revolutions, and dangerous secrets. And Eros! His determination balanced with a sense of humor about his fate made him such a swoon-worthy love interest. The action started swiftly and didn't let up. I can't wait to read more from Jae!" --Lindsay Smith, author of Sekret and Dreamstrider

A thrilling blend of science fiction and fantasy, Beyond the Red sketches out an exciting new world full of romance and intrigue. I can't wait for future installments! --Kat Zhang, author of the Hybrid Chronicles series