Best Behavior

Wendy Francis (Author)
Available

Description

"A delicious family drama; look no further for your perfect poolside read "
--Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Forever Summer

A Lee Woodruff "Book Marks" Pick * A Liz and Lisa Best Book of May * A Zibby Owens Recommended Summer Read

Meredith Parker has made the journey to Bolton, her twins' college, dozens of times. This weekend, though, is different. Dawn and Cody are about to graduate and move away to separate corners of the country. Meredith is proud of her kids, and she's proud of herself for helping them get this far. She just never expected the tidal wave of emotions sweeping over her--or the tangled family dynamics complicating everything.

Meredith doesn't miss her cheating ex, Roger, one bit, but sitting across from his very young, very gorgeous second wife threatens to unravel the graceful facade she's trying so hard to maintain. Joel, Meredith's husband, can see she's feeling the first pangs of empty-nest syndrome and wants to soften the blow--but he's distracted by a familiar face. Meanwhile, Cody and Dawn are sitting on their own secrets, and Roger's new wife, Lily, wonders if she really wants to be a part of this wild, mixed-up family.

As tensions simmer with each passing appetizer tray, Meredith's vision of the perfect weekend goes up in flames. But before the party's over, as best behavior gives way to brutal honesty, there'll be a chance for this new blended family to truly come together--in all its messy and glorious imperfection.

"A delightful, smartly paced read written with grace, depth and humor."
--Meg Mitchell Moore, author of The Islanders

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Graydon House
Publish Date
May 05, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.3 X 0.9 X 7.9 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781525804625

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Wendy Francis is the author of the novels, The Summer Sail, The Summer of Good Intentions, and Three Good Things. A former book editor, she has written for Good Housekeeping, the Washington Post, the Improper Bostonian, and WBUR's Cognoscenti. She lives outside Boston with her husband and eleven-year-old son and has two stepchildren, who will soon be proud graduates themselves.

Reviews

PRAISE FOR BEST BEHAVIOR

"With a title like Best Behavior, you can be sure you're in for some very juicy BAD behavior--and Wendy Francis doesn't disappoint. With warmth and humor, Best Behavior delivers a delicious family drama; look no further for your perfect poolside read!"
--JAMIE BRENNER, bestselling author of The Forever Summer

"What could go wrong when you put a blended family up against the perils of a college graduation weekend and mix in twin graduates, divorced parents, opinionated grandparents and a young stepmom out of her depths? Enough to populate a delightful, smartly paced read in which plenty goes right too. Francis writes with grace, depth and humor about complex family dynamics and the joy and heartache of watching young adults spread their wings and fly from the nest."
--MEG MITCHELL MOORE, author of The Islanders

"Wendy Francis captures all the joy and pain of being an (almost) empty-nester in her latest novel. Picture a college graduation weekend on a lovely New England campus. Now mix in some booze, an ex or two, the in-laws, a trophy wife, and loads of secrets/scandals. Soon enough, no one is behaving at their best. A terrific summer read."
--AMY POEPPEL, author of Small Admissions

PRAISE FOR WENDY FRANCIS'S PREVIOUS NOVELS

"Wendy Francis's book thrilled me like a ride in a race car along the coast with the top down. It is everything a summer read should be."
--ELIN HILDERBRAND, New York Times bestselling author, on The Summer of Good Intentions

"Francis illustrates with charm and insight the drama and love of friendship and sisterhood, realistically portrayed through relatable and likable characters. A great summer read for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin."
--Library Journal on The Summer Sail

"The Summer of Good Intentions is a tender and vivid portrait of a family by the sea, of three unforgettable sisters and the tidal pull of their love and secrets. Wendy Francis is a wonderful writer. She made me feel the salt air."
--LUANNE RICE, New York Times bestselling author

"The setting of this enjoyable novel is enticing, and the tone is breezy. A sure bet for your summer beach-reads list. Recommend this one to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Anne Rivers Siddons."
--Booklist on The Summer Sail

"Wendy Francis has created both a family and a story I did not want to leave. These three sisters on a summer vacation display the strong ties that can both hurt and heal a family. Filled with the sweet briny air of Cape Cod, this extraordinary tale shows that, together, we can weather all the seasons of life."
--PATTI CALLAHAN HENRY, New York Times bestselling author, on The Summer of Good Intentions