Bernard Pepperlin

Cara Hoffman (Author) Olga Demidova (Illustrator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
September 17, 2019
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.9 X 0.8 X 7.4 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062865441

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Cara Hoffman is the author of three critically acclaimed novels for adults: Running (a New York Times Editor's Choice), Be Safe I Love You (nominated for a Folio Prize), and So Much Pretty (a New Yorker Books Pick and New York Times Best Suspense Novel of 2011). She is also the author of the popular middle grade novel Bernard Pepperlin (a Junior Library Guild Selection). She has written for Rolling Stone, the New York Times, Paris Review, Bookforum, and National Public Radio, among others, and has been a visiting writer at University of Oxford. She lives in Manhattan and teaches at the Stonecoast MFA program at University of Southern Maine.

Olga Demidova has illustrated many books for children around the world. She studied at the Moscow Art Institute of Applied Arts. For more information, visit olgademidova.ru.

Reviews

"Bernard and his newfound friends--revolutionary rats, wise-cracking cats, and coffee-chugging squirrels, to name a few--will delight and inspire readers of all ages. New York City will never be the same again!"--Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Medal-winning author of Hello Universe
"What do you get when you put one lost little mouse into a big city filled with singing cockroaches, hungry falcons, magic teapots, and conniving weasels? An utterly charming, delightful tale of bravery and friendship!"--Bobbie Pyron, award-winning author of A Pup Called Trouble
"Hoffman deftly creates a compellingly different kind of Wonderland, a place with its own set of realities and whose residents understand that, in spite of their differences, they are stronger together than apart. Everything a fantasy should be and more."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"A quirky flight of fancy with a rich lineage."--Publishers Weekly
"Bernard Pepperlin sparkles! Small animals--human and otherwise--will be inspired by Cara Hoffman's charming middle grade debut."--Sherri L. Smith, author of The Toymaker's Apprentice
"Hoffman cleverly mingles familiar themes and tropes from Carroll's famous novel with wry humor. A great read-alike for fans of Roald Dahl, E.B. White, and Katherine Applegate."--School Library Journal