Benny and Penny in How to Say Goodbye: Toon Level 2

Available

Product Details

Price
$12.95  $11.91
Publisher
Toon Books
Publish Date
Pages
32
Dimensions
6.0 X 0.4 X 9.1 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781935179993

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Bestselling author Geoffrey Hayes has written and illustrated over forty children's books, including the extremely popular series of early readers Otto and Uncle Tooth, the classic Bear by Himself, the Patrick Bear books, and When the Wind Blew by Caldecott Medal-winning author Margaret Wise Brown. His TOON Book series of Benny and Penny books has garnered multiple awards. In 2009, Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! received the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award given by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English.

Reviews

"With humor, directness, and unfailing honesty, Hayes's sensitive cartooning and sharp dialogue play up the big emotions of these little mice." - Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

"Hayes' grasp of children's inner lives is deep and lovely, granting them not only the complexity to experience resounding sorrow and guilt, but also the tools--with a little help and understanding--to overcome these difficult feelings...An exemplary installment in an already successful series." - Booklist STARRED REVIEW

"A simple narrative make this ideal for budding young readers. VERDICT: A wonderful and sensitively handled offering; purchase where the series is popular or where titles on death are needed." - School Library Journal STARRED REVIEW

"Death is an odd subject for a comic for young children, but Hayes handles it well. For newly independent readers, this is an alternative to--not a replacement for--Brown's classic. Another sweet, empathetic day with Benny and Penny." - Kirkus Reviews

"In only 20-some pages, Hayes manages to move his characters realistically through denial, disgust, resistance, friendship, problem-solving, and navigating the ceremonies of mourning." - Comics Worth Reading

"It's never easy to deal with loss and saying goodbye to a loved one. In gentle, honest, and slightly humorous fashion, this graphic novel filled with softly colored pencil illustrations tackles those tough topics." - Literacy Daily

"A sensitive look at dealing with strong feelings in the wake of loss. An important addition to graphic novel collections and readers advisory lists." - Mom Read It

"Following in the tradition of Sesame Street and Mr. Rogers, Hayes does not shy away from dealing with direct facts or feelings, things that often become overlooked when talking with children about death." - Musing Librarian Reviews