Before She Ignites

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$10.99
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
Pages
496
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.3 X 7.8 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062469410

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the Incarnate trilogy, the Orphan Queen duology, and the Fallen Isles trilogy and coauthor of the New York Times bestsellers My Lady Jane, My Plain Jane, and My Calamity Jane. Visit her at www.jodimeadows.com.

Reviews

"In this first of the Fallen Isles Trilogy, Meadows sows the seeds for an exciting follow-up and creates a rich, vivid world with characters who blossom on the page.... A page-turner that promises future intrigue, special powers, and dragon adventures."--Kirkus Reviews
"Meadows portrays acutely Mira's insecurities about not living up to the demands of her station or to her mother's expectations...while exploring issues of inclusivity and discrimination. Fans of Naomi Novik's Temeraire series or Julie Kagawa's Talon books will be delighted."--Publishers Weekly
"The complex political system is compellingly built, and Mira's characterization is admirable. Hand to fans of rich world building--and, of course, fans of dragons."
--ALA Booklist
"Do not walk, run to get this book, so you can devour it like I did! Mira is a fascinating and flawed heroine who tilts the world on its side. I loved her and this fiercely imagined world. Jodi Meadows is a genius."--Mary Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of The Remnant Chronicles
"A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn't put it down!"--C .J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen
"Complex world-building and luminous storytelling. Mira will sear a mark on your heart long after the final page is consumed."--Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon
Meadows weaves a taut narrative of loss, betrayal, and friendship, building a politically and environmentally fascinating world that readers who are looking for fantasies that center on people of color will especially appreciate.--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"If you were looking for a new YA fantasy book to read with incredibly diverse characters, fantastical world-building, and a riveting plot, then Before She Ignites is the book for you. This book is what the future of the YA genre should be."--Geeks of Color
"...fast-paced, with surprising twists and turns. This richly written fantasy--the first in a trilogy--will keep readers asking whom to trust and wondering what's true."--School Library Journal