Bedtime Bonnet

Nancy Redd (Author) Nneka Myers (Illustrator)
Available

Description

This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions--and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it's like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!
My brother slips a durag over his locs.
Sis swirls her hair in a wrap around her head.
Daddy covers his black waves with a cap.
Mama gathers her corkscrew curls in a scarf.
I always wear a bonnet over my braids, but tonight I can't find it anywhere!

Bedtime Bonnet gives readers a heartwarming peek into quintessential Black nighttime hair traditions and celebrates the love between all the members of this close-knit, multi-generational family.

Perfect for readers of Hair Love and Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut!

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Random House Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
April 07, 2020
Pages
40
Dimensions
10.2 X 10.1 X 0.5 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781984895240

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Nancy Redd is an award-winning on-air host, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a two-time Mom's Choice Award winner, an NAACP Image Award nominee for outstanding literary work, a New York Times columnist, and a GLAAD Media Award nominee for outstanding digital journalism. Called the perfect combination of style and substance by Essence magazine, Nancy holds an honors degree in women's studies from Harvard University. Bedtime Bonnet was inspired by the lack of resources Nancy faced when she introduced a bonnet to her daughter's nighttime routine.

Nneka Myers lives in Toronto and illustrates for publishers and the animation industry. Although drawing is her favorite, she can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends, or playing video games.

Reviews

"Redd's family represents a range of varying hair textures and care routines, while Myers's vibrant illustrations bring the close-knit crew and their daily rituals to affectionate life."--Publishers Weekly

"A celebration of black hair, family, and culture.... This brightly hued picture book with loads of charm will entertain and empower readers." --Kirkus Reviews

"A wonderful window and mirror that lends itself well to lessons on self-concept, bedtime routines, and learning about differences."--School Library Journal