Beasts of a Little Land

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.75
Publisher
Ecco Press
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
6.4 X 9.0 X 1.5 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063093577

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Juhea Kim was born in Incheon, Korea, and moved to Portland, Oregon, at age nine. Her writing has been published in Granta, Guernica, Catapult, ZYZZYVA, and other outlets. She is the founder and editor of Peaceful Dumpling, an online magazine at the intersection of sustainable lifestyle and ecological literature. She earned her BA in art and archaeology from Princeton University. Beasts of a Little Land, her debut novel, will be translated and published around the world. After a decade in New York City, Kim now lives with her two rescue cats in Portland, Oregon.

Reviews

Would you believe I read this 400-page epic story about war and love across decades of South Korea's history in a single sitting? A debut novel that opens with a tiger encounter in the snowy mountains, it's a twist on historical fiction that roars with life.--Entertainment Weekly, "Must List"
Unrequited love, class warfare, scandal...this novel has it all.--Real Simple, a Best Book of 2021
"You wouldn't know from reading it that Beasts of a Little Land is Kim's debut novel. There is no shortage of ambition on display here, and fleet-footed narrative pacing to match it.... A book written with warmth [and] wisdom."--USA Today
Some people say that all stories are about either love or war. Set against the backdrop of early 20th-century Korea, Kim's epic debut novel is about both.--Harper's Bazaar, a Best Book of 2021
Kim delivers one of the dazzling debuts of the year with this epic story.--E! Online
This kaleidoscopic debut is powerful, romantic and wholly unforgettable.--Ms.
A potent and immersive reading experience, alive to the particulars of its place and time. Intimate but politically resonant, it's perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee and Isabelle Allende.--Chicago Review of Books
"Accomplished.... As the paths of her characters twist and cross and their fortunes rise and fall, [Kim] keeps the weight of the personal and political in perfect balance. Beasts of a Little Land is epic in range but intimate in emotional depth, sure to appeal to readers of historical fiction who prize a well-wrought character."--BookPage
Absorbing, sweeping.... Throughout the novel, observations about world politics remind readers of that greater history.... Complex and interesting characters.--Los Angeles Times
"Gorgeous.... This transporting and elegant tale of complicated characters whose lives intertwine during the Korean independence movement of the early twentieth century is not to be missed."--Departures