Be Prepared

Available

Product Details

Price
$12.99  $11.95
Publisher
First Second
Publish Date
Pages
256
Dimensions
6.0 X 8.4 X 0.9 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781626724457

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Vera Brosgol was born in Moscow, Russia, in 1984 and moved to the United States when she was five. Her first graphic novel Anya's Ghost was published in 2011 by First Second and won Eisner, Cybils, and Harvey awards. Her picture book Leave Me Alone! was a 2017 Caldecott Honor book. She was a storyboard artist at Laika for ten years, working on animated films including Coraline and Kubo and the Two Strings. She lives in Portland, Oregon, and actually really likes camping now.

Reviews

A New York Times Book Reiview Notable Children's Book of 2018
A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018
Selected as the Best Graphic Novel of 2018 by Parents Magazine

"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can't stand it." --Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile


"Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale's Real Friends (2017), this will easily lodge a place in readers' hearts, even as it has them rolling in the aisles."--Booklist, starred

"The story, both culturally specific and universal, is a welcome addition to the growing canon of comics tales by talented women cartoonists (Raina Telgemeier, Tillie Walden, Zeina Abirached, Cece Bell, and many others) based on their own lives."--Horn Book, starred

"The dialogue rings true, the pace is seamless, and the panel artwork, in woodsy browns and greens, conveys feelings with clean, assured lines. By turns sardonic, adorable, and noble, Vera is a beguiling hero who learns how to recognize who's really on her side."--Publishers Weekly, starred

"A gorgeous, emotional memoir worthy of any graphic novel collection."--School Library Journal, starred

"While the culturally specific references will particularly resonate with kids of Russian heritage, the larger story will strike chords with any kid who has ever struggled to find a place to belong."--Kirkus

"There's no real villainy here, just the quotidian slings and arrows carelessly shot by kids more concerned with fun than empathy. That makes Vera a character with appeal to every tween who's ever felt disappointed by peers--or by a fulfilled wish that didn't live up to its bright, shiny promise."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

s