As Long as We Both Shall Live

Joann Chaney (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$27.99
Publisher
Flatiron Books
Publish Date
January 15, 2019
Pages
336
Dimensions
6.4 X 1.0 X 9.5 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250076397

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JoAnn Chaney is a graduate of UC Riverside's Palm Desert MFA program. She lives in Colorado with her family. She is the author of What You Don't Know, which was longlisted for the Crime Writers' Association's John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award and was one of BookRiot's Best Mysteries of the Year, and As Long As We Both Shall Live.

Reviews

One of the Best Winter Thrillers from The New York Times Book Review
One of CrimeReads' Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2019
PureWow: 15 Creepy New Thrillers We're Cozying Up with This Winter
Editor's Choice, The New York Times Book Review

"The pleasure of As Long As We Both Shall Live is that Chaney's...on the run too, a half-step ahead of us." --The New York Times Book Review

"Let's just say this twisty, noir-soaked book, which will appeal to fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman (not to mention James M. Cain), makes a cutting statement about the plight of even the most feminist wives....There's never a point in which Chaney doesn't have you in the palm of her hand." --Chicago Tribune

"A really satisfying domestic suspense marriage thriller in the Liane Moriarty tradition....A great beach reach." --New York Times Book Review podcast

"Unputdownable...This novel is anything but predictable. The female characters are forces of nature, and the plot twists are deliciously demented, a la Gone Girl and Big Little Lies."
--People

"Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: 'If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.'...Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit--and a zinger of a coda." --Booklist, starred review

"Far more than a typical murder mystery. From the first propulsive line, 'If you try to kill your wife without a plan you will fail, ' to the stunning conclusion, the reader is swept along in a twisting, turning journey that is as much a treatise on marriage as on murder." --Mystery Scene


"Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage. A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This book is a wicked page-turner, dripping in dark humor, and a hell of a ride you won't realize you are on until it's too late to get off. So strap-in, and read this before anyone spoils the fun."
--BookRiot

"The perfect beach read, a multiple-murder and suspense saga that will keep readers engrossed and guessing."
--BookPage

"This twisty thriller will keep your heart rate elevated right up to the final page."
--Bookish

"We credit Chaney in particular for giving us two great female characters--one detective and one victim (who may be much more than that)."
--PureWow