Anthem (Sixties Trilogy #3), Volume 3

Deborah Wiles (Author)

Product Details

$19.99  $18.39
Scholastic Press
Publish Date
October 01, 2019
5.6 X 8.3 X 1.9 inches | 1.6 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Deborah Wiles is the author of the picture book Freedom Summer and the novels: Love, Ruby Lavender; The Aurora County All-Stars; and Each Little Bird That Sings, a National Book Award finalist, and A Long Line of Cakes. She is also the author of the documentary novels Countdown and Revolution, a National Book Award Finalist, and Anthem. She has vivid memories of ducking and covering under her school desk during air-raid drills at the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis. She also sang in the Glee Club, was a champion speller, and hated Field Day. Deborah lives in Atlanta, Georgia. You can visit her on the web at


Praise for The Sixties Trilogy #1: Countdown:
* Wiles skillfully keeps many balls in the air, giving readers a story that appeals
across the decades as well as offering enticing paths into the history. -- Booklist, starred review

* The larger story . . . told here in an expert coupling of text and design, is how life
endures, even triumphs, no matter how perilous the times. -- Horn Book, starred

* References to duct tape (then newly invented), McDonald's and other pop culture
lend authenticity to this phenomenal story of the beginnings of radical change in
America. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* Wiles palpably recreates the fear kids felt when air-raid sirens and duck-and-cover
drills were routine . . . this story is sure to strike a chord with those living through
tough times today. -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

Praise for The Sixties Trilogy #2: Revolution:
*With elements of family drama and coming of age themes that mirror the larger sociopolitical backdrop, Revolution is a book that lingers long after the last page. -- School Library Journal, starred review

* 1960s words and images still sound and resound in this triumphant middle volume of the author's Sixties Trilogy. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review