Anne of Green Gables



Lucy Maud Montgomery's classic children's novel tells the tale of Anne Shirley, a red-headed orphan mistakenly fostered on Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, two middle aged siblings who run a small farm on Canada's Prince Edward Island. The Cuthberts had 'ordered' an orphan boy to help in the fields, but Anne's talkative nature, her romantic nature and irrepressible optimism gradually charm the staid old couple. She is allowed to stay and is soon popular with her schoolmates, especially her bosom friend Diana, and the handsome and annoying Gilbert Blythe, whom Anne refuses to speak to after he jokingly calls her 'Carrots'. The author lovingly traces Anne's journey through childhood, following her adventures and misadventures from a naïve, melodramatic child to an intelligent, selfless young woman who, despite setbacks, remains unconquerably optimistic about life and the human condition.

Product Details

Aziloth Books
Publish Date
February 05, 2013
6.0 X 9.0 X 0.44 inches | 0.01 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

L.M. Montgomery (1874 - 1942), was the pen name of Lucy Maud Montgomery, a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning in 1908 with Anne of Green Gables. The book was an immediate success. The central character, Anne Shirley, an orphaned girl, made Montgomery famous in her lifetime and gave her an international following. The first novel was followed by a series of sequels with Anne as the central character. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems and 30 essays. Most of the novels were set in Prince Edward Island and locations within Canada's smallest province became a literary landmark and popular tourist site-namely Green Gables farm, the impetus for Prince Edward Island National Park. She was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1935.