Among the Hedges

(Author) (Translator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$14.95  $13.75
Publisher
Open Letter
Publish Date
Pages
120
Dimensions
5.0 X 7.9 X 0.5 inches | 0.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781948830393
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Sara Mesa is the author of eight works of fiction, including Scar (winner of the Ojo Critico Prize), Four by Four (a finalist for the Herralde Prize), An Invisible Fire (winner of the Premio Málaga de Novela), Among the Hedges, and Un amor. Her works have been translated into more than ten different languages, and she has been widely praised for her concise, sharp writing style.
MEGAN McDOWELL has translated many contemporary authors from Latin America and Spain, including Alejandro Zambra, Samanta Schweblin, Mariana Enríquez, Gonzalo Torné, Lina Meruane, Diego Zuñiga, and Carlos Fonseca. Her translations have been published in The New Yorker, Tin House, The Paris Review, Harper's Magazine, McSweeney's, Words Without Borders, and Vice, among others. Her translation of Alejandro Zambra's novel Ways of Going Home won the 2013 English PEN Award for writing in translation, and her English version of Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin was short-listed for the 2017 Man Booker International Prize.

Reviews

Praise for Four by Four

"With short, propulsive chapters, Sara Mesa creates an unforgettable gothic landscape, centered on the mysterious and menacing Wybrany College, that twists in ways that unsettle and thrill. In Four by Four, Mesa's sentences are clear as glass, but when you look through you will be terrified by what you see."--Laura van den Berg, author of The Third Hotel

"The atmospheric unraveling of the mystery will keep you turning the page; the ending will leave you stunned--Mesa's Four by Four is a tautly written literary thriller that juxtaposes the innocence of children with the fetish of control; a social parable that warns against the silence of oppression and isolation through its disquieting, sparse prose."--Kelsey Westenberg, Seminary Co-op

"Stylistically, Four by Four's narrative structure is both dazzling and dizzying, as its perfect pacing only enhances the metastasizing dread and dis-ease. . . . Mesa exposes the thin veneer of venerability to be hiding something menacing and unforgivable--and Four by Four lays it bare for all the world to see."--Jeremy Garber, Powell's Books

"Very few authors evoke a visceral reaction with prose in the way that Sara Mesa does. . . . Four by Four sounds an alarm on the dangers of power, privilege, and the self-delusions told in order to hide complicity. A work of high gothic art, Four by Four solidifies Mesa as one of the strongest female voices in contemporary Spanish literature."--Cristina Rodriguez, Deep Vellum Books

"This is a linguistically precise, stylistically spare and emotionally devastating look at the corrosive effect of abuse and power imbalance, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Samanta Schweblin."--Cindy Pauldine, Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Like Buñuel's Exterminating Angel, or even Bong Joon-ho's Parasite, the rich are left rotting in a swamp of their own design. . . . Four by Four is an uncomfortably real look into the absurd world of the bourgeoisie. It is so complex and layered that, to reach a full understanding, one may have to read it two or even three times. Not a single character, after all, is what they seem."--Noelle Mcmanus, The Women's Review of Books

Praise for Among the Hedges

"When you find yourself caught in the spiderweb of Sara Mesa's fiction, you wonder how she does it, what the substance is that glues you to her books--that asphalt that impregnates you while you're reading as well as hours and days after you have closed the book. With Among the Hedges it happens again."--Carlos Zanón, Babelia, El País (Book of the Week)

"What is fascinating about Sara Mesa is her ability to map the human condition through losers, the abuse of power, oppressive and isolated places, the slow and continuous degradation. That's why her novels are so interesting: because they are always rough, bitter, sincere, dark, unpleasant and slow."--Ángeles López, La Razón

"Among the Hedges is pure Sara Mesa, though with a new touch of melancholy. A disturbing and provocative novel."--Luisgé Martín

"A very literary novel due to the wise use of narrative times. The chiaroscuros are better at explaining the human being and literature was born to remind us of this. A much-needed novel for our times."--José María Pozuelo Yvancos, Abc Cultural

"A couple of characters who meet when perhaps they shouldn't have, and that make us question our own prejudices, the labels we put on others and our own notions of normality."--Eva Piquer, Ara