American Street (Bound for Schools & Libraries)

Ibi Zoboi (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Product Details

Price
$21.80
Publisher
Turtleback Books
Publish Date
May 01, 2018
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.4 X 1.1 X 7.9 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Prebound
EAN/UPC
9780606412278

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ibi Zoboi holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her novel American Street was a National Book Award finalist and a New York Times Notable Book. She is also the author of Pride and My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich, a New York Times bestseller. She is the editor of the anthology Black Enough. Born in Haiti and raised in New York City, she now lives in New Jersey with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at www.ibizoboi.net.

Reviews

"Self-assured, elegant and utterly captivating."--New York Times
★ "Mixing gritty street life with the tenderness of first love, Haitian Vodou, and family bonds, the book is at once chilling, evocative, and reaffirming."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
★ "Filling her pages with magic, humanity, tragedy, and hope, Zoboi builds up, takes apart, and then rebuilds an unforgettable story. This book will take root in readers' hearts."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Zoboi urges us to examine the American dream to see if there is room within it to hold the ones we love--Ebony Magazine
★ "Zoboi's stunning debut intertwines mysticism and love with grit and violence...Fierce and beautiful."--Booklist (starred review)
"Will reach young readers regardless of their background."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
★ "A breathtaking story about contemporary America that will serve as a mirror to some and a window for others, and it will stay with anyone who reads it."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"A poignant meditation on one girl's struggle to find her way in a new world."--Nicola Yoon, bestselling author of EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING.
"Brimming with culture, magic, warmth, and unabashed rawness, "American Street" is ultimately a blistering tale of humanity. This is "Manchild in the Promised Land," for a new generation, and a remarkable debut from Zoboi, who without question is an inevitable force in storytelling."--Jason Reynolds, award-winning co-author of ALL AMERICAN BOYS
"Zoboi's nascent storytelling gifts ensnare from page one. To this spellbinding voice of the next generation, I bow."--Rita Williams-Garcia, New York Times bestselling author and three-time winner of the Coretta Scott King Award
"Following in the footsteps of Edwidge Danticat, Zoboi's young adult debut is equal parts gritty and transcendent."--The Horn Book
"A refreshing take on a common literary preoccupation, the American dream...fascinating and beautiful."--Vox