American Judas

Mickey Dubrow (Author)
Available

Description

For fans of Philip K. Dick's The Man In the High Castle and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale.

A BLOODLESS RELIGIOUS COUP turns the American dream into an American nightmare where dissenters are jailed. Religious right-wingers rule the land, and those who resist the oppressive theocracy are forced into reeducation camps until they repent or disappear. A young Jewish-Gentile couple desperately navigates the tyrannical new regime by remaining invisible. But after a coworker outs Seth Ginsberg for secretly practicing Judaism, the rising political aide and his feisty wife are left with menacing options, trapped between soul-crushing internment in a Savior Camp or a rugged race for the Mexican border. This timely dystopian thriller will keep readers turning pages and leave them afraid, angry, and thoughtful about America in the 21st Century.

2019 Georgia Author of the Year Awards Nominee for First Novel.

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Sfk Press
Publish Date
October 23, 2018
Pages
346
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.77 X 8.5 inches | 0.97 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781732539808
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Mickey Dubrow is passionate about telling stories that offer fresh perspectives while also being entertaining. He wants readers to feel excitement, sympathy, amusement, joy, and maybe even a little anxiety when they read his work. In "American Judas," he explores, among other possibilities, lost faith in America and what this might mean for the freedoms we cherish so much. He holds a BFA from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. As a freelance writer and television producer of 30 years, Mickey'sclients include CNN, Turner South, Cartoon Network Marketing, HGTV, and SRA/McGraw Hill.

Reviews

"Part mystery, part dystopia, American Judas is satiric and stinging. Set in a future when the American way is 'God and guns' and inspectors invade your privacy to verify your faith, this novel cuts awfully close to home." --Anthony Grooms, author of The Vain Conversation and Bombingham

"Holy moly! Mickey Dubrow mixes a tonic for what ails us. American Judas smartly blends drama, satire, and media culture to free-pour a liberal cocktail about a very American theocracy.... This timely and clever debut novel distills present-day anxieties about power and religion into one terrific read." --Gray Stewart, author of Haylow

"Mickey Dubrow sends us an angry roar against unholy hypocrisy. In the pages of this dystopia, the National Church of Christ makes sure the American way stays straight and narrow by cruelly reforming homosexuals, drug addicts, adulterers, Satan worshippers, and Liberals. The message of American Judas is like watching a naked National Church choir: The pious hymns will never reach the angels, because the chubby, sweating bodies belong to animals." --Charles McNair, author of Land O' Goshen, Pickett's Charge and The Epicureans