All the Useless Things Are Mine: A Book of Seventeens

Thomas Walton (Author) Douglas Miller (Illustrator)
Backorder

Description

Poetry. Fiction. Literary Nonfiction. Art. Illustrated by Douglas Miller. This is a book of seventeen-word sentences, of aphorisms and otherisms. The aphorisms are in the tradition of Porchia, Blake, The Tao Te Ching, and Wittgenstein. The otherisms find their ancestors in Gertrude Stein, cabaret, Hejinian, haiku, and noir pulp fiction. Arranged thematically to respond to various themes--politics, love and sex, parenthood, the afterlife, etc.--both what's lofty and lowly are represented in these wildly imaginative and strangely intimate "seventeens."

At times pithy, poetic, surreal or profane, each line is a concise world of wonder. Here is a collection of seventeen-word landscapes, snapshots and found bits of lint, learning and linden leaves that can be nibbled on, a few at a time, or binged in quick succession. ALL THE USELESS THINGS ARE MINE is illustrated with seventeen etchings and drawings by Douglas Miller and includes an afterword by Elizabeth Cooperman.

Product Details

Price
$17.00
Publisher
Sagging Meniscus Press
Publish Date
July 01, 2020
Pages
138
Dimensions
4.5 X 0.4 X 5.9 inches | 0.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781944697914
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Thomas Walton is author of the anti-lyric-essay lyric essay The World Is All That Does Befall Us (Ravenna Press, 2018), the micro-chapbook A Name Is Just A Mane (Rinky Dink, 2016), and, with Elizabeth Cooperman, the tesselated essay/poem THE LAST MOSAIC (Sagging Meniscus Press, 2018). His work has appeared in ZYZZYVA, Delmar, Timberline Review, Rivet, The Chaos Journal, Queen Mob's Teahouse, Bombay Gin, Pontoon, and other magazines. Some of his poems were anthologized in Make It True; Poetry from Cascadia (Leaf Press, 2015). He lives in Seattle, where he edits PageBoy Magazine.
Doug grew up in Scottsbluff, Nebraska. He entered the United States Navy in 1971, qualified for submarine service and served our country for nine years. Doug, his wife Joyce, married 46 years, and 3 children moved to beautiful Charlotte, NC in 1983. He is retired.