All the Answers

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$25.00
Publisher
Gallery 13
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
6.1 X 1.4 X 9.1 inches | 0.98 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781501166433

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Michael Kupperman has done many illustrations for such publications as Fortune, The New Yorker, and The New York Times. He frequently writes scripts for DC Comics. This is his first book.

Reviews

"A moving tale of fathers and their sons. A cautionary fable from the primal dawn of the Age of Celebrity. This book is brilliant."

--Grant Morrison, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Doom Patrol and JLA
"Tender, brilliant, beautiful, and fascinating. How lucky we are that Michael Kupperman has this story to tell."

--Julie Klausner, creator and star of Difficult People
"All the Answers isn't just a fascinating slice of pop-culture history, it's also a moving and deeply personal portrait of America's first celebrity know-it-all."

--Ken Jennings, Parade columnist and longest-running Jeopardy! champion

"Really enjoyed reading All the Answers, a graphic novel telling the true story of [Kupperman's] 'Quiz Kid' father. Poignant and funny and sad."

--Jake Tapper, chief Washington correspondent, CNN
"Kupperman's varied angles, thick line work, staring seriocomic facial stylings, and sharp prose help turn an already incredible story into an electrifyingly fast-paced, yet intimate memoir about family secrets and the price children can pay for their parents' ambitions."

--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Michael Kupperman has crafted a deeply personal and fascinating graphic novel about his father, a man whose life as a child prodigy was ironically both a dark family secret and one of the most well-documented in American history."

--"Weird Al" Yankovic
"A beautiful, haunting, unsettling book that will move anyone who's ever struggled to understand a loved one's silences."

--Greg Pak, writer of The Incredible Hulk, X-Men, and Batman/Superman
"[There is] no book this year about which I have a higher level of curiosity in addition to a high level of anticipation."

--Tom Spurgeon, Comics Reporter
"All the Answers is a revelation of a book. A fascinating biography enveloped in a poignant memoir, it transcends both, giving the readers an amazing insight into a time in history that reverberates into our present: the fascination with celebrity and the commodification of childhood. All skillfully rendered by one of the greats of American cartooning. I can't recommend it enough."

--Chip Zdarsky, artist and co-creator of Sex Criminals
"A heartbreaking exploration of memory and the devastating power of the human mind."

--Matt Kindt, writer and artist of MIND MGMT, Dept. H, and 3 Story
"In the vein of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Kupperman's remarkable graphic memoir brings his father--the Quiz Kid himself, Joel Kupperman--to gorgeous, painful life. There's also some fascinating insights here into the role of radio and television in mid-20th-century America."

--Entertainment Weekly; 20 New Books to Read in May
"It's such a surprising treat to read this thoughtful, pithy memoir."

--Lisa Hanawalt, designer of Bojack Horseman