All Girls

Emily Layden (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Feb 16, 2021

Description

An upmarket debut novel set at a New England all-girls boarding school--for readers of Sally Rooney, Taylor Jenkins Reid, J. Courtney Sullivan, and Curtis Sittenfeld--from a stunning new voice in women's fiction.

An all-girls boarding school in a hilly corner of Connecticut, Atwater is a haven for progressive thinking and feminist intellectuals. The students are smart, driven, and worldly; they are also teenagers, learning to find their way. But when they arrive on campus for the start of Fall term, they're confronted with startling news: an Atwater alumna has made a troubling allegation of sexual misconduct against an unidentified teacher. As the weeks wear on, and the administration's efforts to manage the ensuing crisis fall short, these extraordinary young women come to realize that the adults in their lives may not be the protectors they previously believed.

Emily Layden's All Girls unfolds over the course of one tumultuous academic year, and is told from the point of view of a small cast of diverse, interconnected characters as they navigate the social mores of prep school life and the broader, more universal challenges of growing up. The trials of adolescent girlhood are pitched against the backdrop of sexual assault, consent, anxiety, and the ways that our culture looks to young women as trendsetters but otherwise silences their voices and discounts their opinions. The story that emerges is a richly detailed, impeccably layered, and emotionally nuanced depiction of what it means to come of age in a female body today.

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.19
Publisher
St. Martin's Press
Publish Date
February 16, 2021
Pages
320
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
ISBN/EAN
9781250270894
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

EMILY LAYDEN is a graduate of Stanford University, and has taught at several girls' schools nationwide. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, Marie Claire, The Billfold, and Runner's World. All Girls is her first novel.