Aerie

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.98
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
October 04, 2016
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.3 X 9.2 X 1.0 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062320551

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Maria Dahvana Headley is a New York Times bestselling novelist, memoirist, and editor, most recently of Magonia, Queen of Kings, and the anthology Unnatural Creatures (coeditor with Neil Gaiman). Her short fiction has been nominated for the Nebula and Shirley Jackson Awards. She lives in Brooklyn in an apartment with a seven-foot stuffed crocodile and constellations on the ceiling. You can find her at www.mariadahvanaheadley.com

Reviews

"Gorgeous, hopeful, heroic, as far-out fantastical as a lost Bowie song--a wild and wonderful novel that makes you glad to be alive."--Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author of Lair of Dreams
"The stunner in this novel is the romance between Aza and Jason that... transforms slowly to something that is broken and imperfect but also intentional and heart-wrenchingly beautiful. Readers [will] happily return here after diving into that splendid start."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The dual-voiced narrative... offers intriguing characterization and gender dynamics, paired with fascinatingly complex world-building that readers familiar with the series will especially enjoy."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: "Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she's whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream."--Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline
"Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming."--Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red Queen
"With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman."--Booklist
"The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled... romance, danger, and world-building combine."--School Library Journal
"The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"[A] weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
"Headley riffs like an improv comic... funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason's bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"A well-paced, cinematic adventure."--Kirkus Reviews
"The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza's interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green's The Fault in Our Stars."--Kirkus Reviews