A Thread of Grace

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.64
Publisher
Ballantine Books
Publish Date
Pages
442
Dimensions
5.28 X 1.02 X 8.1 inches | 0.72 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780449004135
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

The author of prize-winning research in paleoanthropology, Mary Doria Russell has written two previous novels, The Sparrow and Children of God. She lives with her husband and son in Cleveland, Ohio.

Reviews

"A powerfully imagined novel . . . [a] profoundly moving book that engages the heights and depths of human experience."--Los Angeles Times

"An addictive page-turner . . . [Mary Doria] Russell has an astonishing story to tell--full of action, paced like a rapid-fire thriller, in tense, vivid scenes that move with cinematic verve."--The Washington Post Book World

"Hauntingly beautiful, utterly unforgettable."--San Francisco Chronicle

"Rich . . . Based on the heroism of ordinary people, [A Thread of Grace] packs an emotional punch."--People

"[A] deeply felt and compellingly written book . . . The progress of each character's life is marked or measured by acts of grace. . . . Russell is a smart, passionate and imaginative writer."--Cleveland Plain Dealer

"A feat of storytelling . . . an important book [that] needs to be widely read."--Portland Oregonian

"Mary Doria Russell's fans (and aren't we all?) will rejoice to see her new novel on the shelves. A Thread of Grace is as ambitious, beautiful, tense, and transforming as any of us could have hoped."--Karen Joy Fowler, author of The Jane Austen Book Club

"Fans of Mary Doria Russell's The Sparrow and Children of God will be thrilled by her masterful new novel. A Thread of Grace is a rich, multi-layered narrative that offers fresh insight into a devastating time in world affairs. A story of love and war, it speaks to the resilience and beauty of the human spirit in the midst of unimaginable horror. It is, unquestionably, a literary triumph."--David Morrell, author of The Brotherhood of the Rose and First Blood

"Essential reading for people who love Italy. You will lose yourself completely in this ecumenical epic of Italians working together to save Jewish refugees during the German Occupation of 1943-1944. Russell has a deep empathy for her characters and writes with genius about the horrors of guerrilla war. This wholly absorbing historical novel ends with perhaps the most moving coda in fictional history."--Susan Cahill, author/editor of Desiring Italy and The Smiles of Rome