A Spell for Trouble: An Enchanted Bay Mystery

Esme Addison (Author)
Available

Description

Fans of Ellery Adams and Heather Blake will be charmed by Esme Addison's new Enchanted Bay mystery series.

Aleksandra Daniels hasn't set foot in the quiet seaside town of Bellamy Bay, North Carolina in over twenty years. Ever since her mother's tragic death, her father has mysteriously forbidden her from visiting her aunt and cousins. But on a whim, Alex accepts an invitation to visit her estranged relatives and to help them in their family business: an herbal apothecary known for its remarkably potent teas, salves, and folk remedies.

Bellamy Bay doesn't look like trouble, but this is a town that harbors dark secrets. Alex discovers that her own family is at the center of salacious town gossip, and that they are rumored to be magical healers descended from mermaids. She brushes this off as nonsense until a local is poisoned and her aunt Lidia is arrested for the crime. Alex is certain Lidia is being framed, and she resolves to find out why.

Alex's investigation unearths stories that some have gone to desperate lengths to conceal: forbidden affairs, family rivalries, and the truth about Alex's own ancestry. And when the case turns deadly, Alex learns that not only are these secrets worth hiding, but they may even be worth killing for.

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Crooked Lane Books
Publish Date
July 07, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.5 X 1.2 X 8.3 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781643853031

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ever since Esme discovered Nancy Drew, she's wanted to solve mysteries. As
a mystery author, she's finally found a way to make that dream come true. A former
military spouse, Esme lives in Raleigh, NC with her husband and three boys. When she's
not writing, you can find her visiting B&Bs, breweries, wineries, and historical sites.

Reviews

Praise for A Spell for Trouble:

"This cozy, with its well-developed characters and charming seaside setting, and framed by plant and mermaid lore, will appeal to those who enjoy stories with a touch of magic."
--Booklist

"[A] sparkling debut...For those who love cozies, romance with an edge, and magical adventures."
--Kirkus

"A crafty plot, distinctive characters, and a quirky small-town setting...Cozy fans will be more than satisfied."
--Publishers Weekly

"Murder and magic blend to form an intriguing tale in Esme Addison's charming, A Spell for Trouble. Fans of both cozy mysteries and paranormal fantasies will fall in love with the enchanting town of Bellamy Bay, where life is anything but mundane."
--Alexia Gordon, award-winning author of the Gethsemane Brown mysteries

"Esme Addison has penned a compelling cozy mystery with A SPELL FOR TROUBLE that will leave readers counting the days for the release of future books in the series. A SPELL FOR TROUBLE combines mermaids, magic, murder, and a heaping helping of charm. The story had me cheering for the Alexandra and her family in Bellamy Bay. What a delight!"
--Dorothy St. James, author of the Southern Chocolate Shop Mysteries

"Mermaids, witches, and murder, all in a quaint town, with fun characters. What more could you want? A delightful new series from a fresh voice."
--Agatha Award nominee Mollie Cox Bryan

"Addison will charm cozy readers with this delightful start to an enchanting new series."
--Bree Baker, author of the Seaside Cafe mysteries

"Esme Addison's A Spell for Trouble, the first in a new cozy series, is a sure-fire hit! Water witches and magic potions, copious cups of tea, generations of rumors, and a close-knit loving family. I can't think of anything I want more in a mystery novel. A delight all the way through."
--Eva Gates, national bestselling author of the Lighthouse Library Mysteries


"With a cache of family secrets, a score of small-town rivalries, and a bevy of botanically-inclined magical women, readers will fall under the spell of charming Bellamy Bay."
--Julie Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Witchcraft mysteries


"A refreshing paranormal mystery featuring water witchery, mermaids, and family secrets, A Spell for Trouble is the perfect blend of thrill, whimsy, magic, and romance. Expertly plotted and filled to the brim with enchantment, this debut features a main character that has you cheering for her from start to finish. I can't wait to see what Alex Daniels gets up to next."
--Bailey Cates, New York Times bestselling author of the Magical Bakery mysteries