A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

Roseanne A. Brown (Author) Jordan Cobb (Read by)
& 1 more
Backorder

Description

An instant New York Times bestseller

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction--from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Ren e Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal--kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)

Product Details

Price
$39.99  $35.99
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
June 02, 2020
Language
English
Type
MP3 CD
EAN/UPC
9781094160627
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Rosanne A. Brown

is an immigrant from the West African nation of Ghana and a graduate of the University of Maryland, where she completed the Jimenez-Porter Writers' House program. Her work has been featured by Voice of America, among other outlets. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is her debut novel. You can visit her online at roseanneabrown.com.

Reviews

"Brown spins a fantastical tale that is full of heart, adventure, and intrigue. Readers will delight in the lush details of a world and characters so vividly drawn that they leap off the page."

-- "Rena Barron, author of Kingdom of Souls"

"A dazzling debut, sparkling with delicious magic, romance, and intrigue. Brown weaves a story that will sink its teeth into you and won't let go, even after the last page."

-- "Swati Teerdhala, author of The Tiger at Midnight"

"With the heart-pounding action of Children of Blood and Bone, the magic of Spirited Away, and the twisty alluring intrigue of Game of Thrones, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is a masterpiece."

-- "Brittney Morris, author of Slay"