A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

Available

Description

An instant New York Times bestseller

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction--from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Ren e Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal--kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)

--Swati Teerdhala, author of The Tiger at Midnight

Product Details

Price
$18.98  $17.46
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
June 02, 2020
Pages
480
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.8 X 7.6 inches | 1.14 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062891495
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Roseanne A. Brown is an immigrant from the West African nation of Ghana and a graduate of the University of Maryland, where she completed the Jimenez-Porter Writers' House program. Her work has been featured by Voice of America, among other outlets. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is her debut novel. You can visit her online at roseanneabrown.com.

Reviews

"A refreshing, immersive debut that should be on every fantasy lover's shelf, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin introduces a dazzling new talent in Roseanne A. Brown"--Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken
"With the heart-pounding action of Children of Blood and Bone, the magic of Spirited Away, and the twisty alluring intrigue of Game of Thrones, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is a MASTERPIECE."--Brittney Morris, author of SLAY
"A dazzling debut, sparkling with delicious magic, romance, and intrigue. Brown weaves a story that will sink its teeth into you and won't let go, even after the last page."--Swati Teerdhala, author of The Tiger at Midnight
"Set in a world of ancient magic, Brown spins a fantastical tale that is full of heart, adventure, and intrigue. Readers will delight in the lush details of a world and characters so vividly drawn that they leap off the page."--Rena Barron, author of Kingdom of Souls
"A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is a stunning fantasy featuring characters you will simultaneously root for and against as you try to determine who you want to succeed. Roseanne A. Brown's debut will grab you by the heart and stab you in the feels."--Rachel Strolle, Teen Services Coordinator, Glenside Public Library District
"An explosive, stunning fantasy debut... Brown's world building is diverse and brimming with political intrigue, magic, and a burgeoning romance in the best of ways. Notably, Brown uses a lush fantasy backdrop to poignantly discuss real-world issues."--ALA Booklist (starred review)
"Revitalizing and exciting, Brown's debut breathes life into ancient but still relevant folk stories."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Will leave readers wanting more.... This will appeal to those who love gentle male protagonists, strong female leads, and worlds filled with magic!"--School Library Journal