A Psalm for the Wild-Built

Available

Product Details

Price
$20.99  $19.52
Publisher
Tordotcom
Publish Date
Pages
160
Dimensions
5.2 X 7.9 X 0.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250236210

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Becky Chambers is a science fiction author based in Northern California. She is best known for her Hugo Award-winning Wayfarers series. Her books have also been nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Locus Award, and the Women's Prize for Fiction, among others.

Becky has a background in performing arts, and grew up in a family heavily involved in space science. She spends her free time playing video and tabletop games, keeping bees, and looking through her telescope. Having hopped around the world a bit, she's now back in her home state, where she lives with her wife. She hopes to see Earth from orbit one day.

Reviews

A USA Today Bestseller!

"A Psalm for the Wild-Built begins a series that looks optimistic and hopeful, pursuing stories that arise from abundance instead of scarcity, kindness instead of cruelty, and I look forward to seeing where it goes from here." --NPR

"The gentle touch with which Chambers handles her material makes the book's loftiest philosophical aims feel grounded. With a pervading sense of optimism and warmth, A Psalm for the Wild-Built inaugurates an exciting series from one of science fiction's brightest stars." --Shelf Awareness starred review

"Hugo Award-winning author Becky Chambers begins a new series with this delightful and quietly philosophical novella that presents a hopeful glimpse into a future where humanity actually does the right thing." --Buzzfeed

"Chambers' writing is always tender and healing, but this book has something else braided into it -- something more... This is a book that, for one night, made me stop asking 'what am I even for?' I'm prescribing a preorder to anyone who has ever felt lost. Stunning, kind, necessary." --Sarah Gailey

This was an optimistic vision of a lush, beautiful world that came back from the brink of disaster. Exploring it with the two main characters was a fun and fascinating experience." --Martha Wells

I'm the world's biggest fan of odd couple buddy road trips in science fiction, and this odd couple buddy road trip is a delight: funny, thoughtful, touching, sweet, and one of the most humane books I've read in a long time. We could all use a read like this right now. --Sarah Pinsker

I read this book in one sitting when I was having a really wretched day, and it helped. It felt like a warm cup of tea made by someone who loves me. It's a soft hug of a book, and it says 'It's okay if you're not okay right now.' It made me cry the good sort of tears--the sort when someone is unexpectedly kind to you at the moment you need it most. --Alexandra Rowland

A joyful experience and, as with all of Chambers's books, I was left with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside. --New Scientist

"The first book in Chambers' new series feels like a moment to breathe, a novel that exists to give readers a place to rest and think... Recommended for fans of Chambers' Wayfarers series and The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune." --Booklist Starred Review

Written with all of Chambers' characteristic nuance and careful thought, this is a cozy, wholesome meditation on the nature of consciousness and its place in the natural world. Fans of gentle, smart, and hopeful science fiction will delight in this promising series starter. --Publishers Weekly

I'm so pleased that this is the first of a series, and that there will be more of this world, because, wow, do I want more of it. This book is the type of reading experience I'd recommend to anyone having a hard time, which might be a lot of people at this point... it's a comforting story about comfort and care, as soothing to read as it is to think about, and so full of hope and wonder and potential discovery. I hope you'll try it. --Smart Bitches, Trashy Books