A Promise Given

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
She Writes Press
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.43 X 8.43 X 1.02 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781631523731

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as "Novel Notes of Local Lore," a weekly blog dedicated to Chicago's forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. Coincidentally, her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and many others, so she might be on to something. Unbeknownst to most, Michelle hoards board games she doesn't have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music. Also marmalade.

Reviews

2019 Indie Excellence Awards Winner: Cross Genre 2019 IBPA Ben Franklin Awards: Silver in Romance 2019 Independent Press Award in Romantic Suspense 2019 International Book Awards, Finalist, Fiction: Cross Genre 2019 Pulpwood Queens Bonus Selection 2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards: Finalist in Series 2018 Chanticleer Awards: Finalist in Historical Fiction, 1st place winner in Romance and grand-prize winner in Mystery and Mayhem 2018 Next Generation Indie Book Awards Finalist in Romance 2018 Best Book Awards Finalist in Romance 2018 Best Book Awards Finalist in Cross-Genre "Series fans will cheer the beginning of Clive and Henrietta's private investigation business in an entry with welcome echoes of Pride and Prejudice." --Publishers Weekly "Cox's eye for historical detail remains sharp... A pleasant, escapist diversion." --Kirkus Reviews "Fans of Henrietta and Inspector Howard will delight in Michelle Cox's latest novel. Romantic and atmospheric, A Promise Given offers an intriguing glimpse into 1930s Chicago, by weaving in authentic period details and exploring the social tensions of the day. The unlikely pairing of the Howards--two characters from very different worlds--provides a tender love story." --Susanna Calkins, award-winning author of the Lucy Campion Historical Mysteries "The mix of sleuthing and aristocratic life pairs well with Rhys Bowen's Royal Spyness series." --Booklist "A Promise Given is a well-told story which. . . had me immersed and wanting more. Well done!" --Windy City Reviews Past praise for the author: A Girl Like You "Michelle Cox masterfully recreates 1930s Chicago, bringing to life its diverse neighborhoods and eclectic residents, as well as its seedy side. Henrietta and Inspector Howard are the best pair of sleuths I've come across in ages--Cox makes us care not just about the case, but about her characters. A fantastic start to what is sure to be a long-running series." --Tasha Alexander, New York Times best-selling author of The Adventuress "Fans of spunky, historical heroines will love Henrietta Von Harmon." --Booklist starred review "Flavored with 1930s slang and fashion, this first volume in what one hopes will be a long series is absorbing. Henrietta and Clive are a sexy, endearing, and downright fun pair of sleuths. Readers will not see the final twist coming." --Library Journal starred review A Ring of Truth "An engaging and effective romp rich with historical details." --Kirkus "There's a lot to love about the bloodhound couple at the center of this cozy mystery." --Foreword Reviews "Set in the 1930s, this romantic mystery combines the teetering elegance of Downton Abbey and the staid traditions of Pride and Prejudice with a bit of spunk and determination that suggest Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs." --Booklist "The second book of this mystery series is laced with fiery romance so delicious every reader will struggle to put it down. If you devoured Pride and Prejudice, this love story will get your heart beating just as fast." --Redbook, "20 Books By Women You Must Read This Spring" "Henrietta and Inspector Howard make a charming odd couple in A Ring of Truth, mixing mystery and romance in a fizzy 1930s cocktail." --Hallie Ephron, New York Times best-selling author of Night Night, Sleep Tight
s