A Peculiar Peril

Available

Product Details

Price
$19.99  $18.39
Publisher
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)
Publish Date
Pages
656
Dimensions
6.4 X 8.8 X 2.0 inches | 1.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780374308865

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jeff Vandermeer grew up in the Fiji Islands and now lives in Tallahassee, Florida. His acclaimed Southern Reach trilogy has been translated into more than thirty-five languages. He also wrote the writing guide Wonderbook and helps run the teen science-fiction/fantasy writing camp Shared Worlds. A Peculiar Peril, the opening volume of the Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead duology is his first novel for young adults.

Reviews

A People Magazine Best Books to Read This Summer 2020

"Taking the peculiar darkness of Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine series and the absurd humor and wit of Terry Pratchett, VanderMeer dreams up a wholly original tale, filled with complexity, imagination, and talking marmots. . . .A wild ride that requires a few leaps of faith from readers, but they're in good hands with VanderMeer, who has a sequel in the works for those who emerge victorious from Aurora." --Booklist, starred review

A heck of a lot of fun. . . New readers young and old will find VanderMeer's foray into fresh territory a welcome port of entry to a wildly imaginative universe --The New York Times Book Review

"VanderMeer's sprawling YA debut offers a riotous, slyly sophisticated take on the hero's journey. Boldly drawn characters, sublimely ridiculous worldbuilding, and a witty, prismatic narrative further distinguish the unique tale." --Publishers Weekly

"A madcap marathon portal fantasy . . . An enthusiastic hodgepodge of antique fantasy elements . . . touches of cosmic horror, clever wordplay, genre deconstruction, and butt humor, all tied together with a just-go-with-it fever-dream logic." --Kirkus Reviews

Even for an author known for creating some of the most memorable and important worlds in contemporary fiction, his newest journey into the alt-Earth known as Aurora is remarkable. . .A truly engrossing adventure. --The Chicago Review of Books

"A wicked read that features teen heroes, occult villains, talking animals, and alt-universes, all in VanderMeer's unique style." --Nerdist

"Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Patrick Rothfuss." --Paste Magazine