A Line Made by Walking

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$14.99  $13.79
Publisher
Mariner Books
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.2 X 1.0 X 7.9 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781328915818
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

SARA BAUME studied fine art before earning a master's in creative writing. She was short-listed for the Costa First Novel Award for Spill Simmer Falter Wither and was also the recipient of the Davy Byrnes Short Story Award and the Hennessy New Irish Writing Award.

Reviews

"When I finished Sara Baume's new novel I immediately felt sad that I could not send it in the post to the late John Berger. He, too, would have loved it and found great joy in its honesty, its agility, its beauty, its invention. Baume is a writer of outstanding grace and style. She writes beyond the time we live in." -- Colum McCann

"After a remarkable and deservedly award-winning debut, here is a novel of uniqueness, wonder, recognition, poignancy, truth-speaking, quiet power, strange beauty and luminous bedazzlement. Once again, I've been Baumed." -- Joseph O'Connor

"Unflinching, at times uncomfortable, and always utterly compelling, A Line Made By Walking is among the best accounts of grief, loneliness, and depression that I have ever read. Every word of it rings true, the truth of hard-won knowledge wrested from the abyss. Shot through with a wild, yearning melancholy, it is nevertheless mordantly witty. It felt, to me, kindred to Olivia Laing's The Lonely City: not just on a superficial level, a young woman seeking solace in art, but in the urgent depth of its quest to understand and articulate what it means to make art, and what art might mean for the individual, lost and lonely; how it might bring us out of, or back to, ourselves." -- Lucy Caldwell

"Fascinating, because of the cumulative power of the precise, pleasingly rhythmic sentences, and the unpredictable intelligence of the narrator's mind . . . [In A Line Made by Walking] there is a reminder of the beauty that can be found when you allow yourself to look slowly and sadly at the world." -- Guardian

"Baume writes lovely prose about unimaginable pain. A clear-eyed, beautiful rendering of a woman struggling against despair." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Colum McCann and Richard Russo will adore this masterful and meditative novel that doesn't emphasize plot over atmosphere." -- Booklist, starred review

"A spellbinding meditation on art and life." -- Bookseller