A Good Mother

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Hanover Square Press
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.2 X 7.9 X 0.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781335916099

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

LARA BAZELON is a professor at the University of San Francisco School of Law, where she holds the Barnett chair in Trial Advocacy. She spent seven years as a deputy federal public defender in Los Angeles.

Reviews

"A Good Mother is a high-stakes legal thriller packed with intense courtroom drama, but it's also a story about the complicated sacrifices and compromises that mothers face. In this impressive debut, Lara Bazelon's talent for both storytelling and the law are on sharp display."
--Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of The Better Sister

"Sexy, shrewd, and wholly contemporary, A Good Mother takes pitch-perfect characters, a page-whipping plot, and themes about marriage, lust, betrayal, and the juggling of new motherhood plus a hard-driving career and mixes it all into a deeply perceptive legal thriller that made me drop everything else and just READ. Trial lawyer Abby Rosenberg is a flawed and riveting character you won't soon forget. And Lara Bazelon, herself a prestigious defense attorney, is an author to watch. I loved this book." --Cathi Hanauer, New York Times bestselling author of Gone, The Bitch in the House, and The Bitch is Back

"Lara Bazelon combines a riveting courtroom thriller with a nuanced and thought-provoking examination of gender, race, and justice. Helmed by an intelligent, complex, and flawed protagonist, A Good Mother is a beautifully written debut that kept me turning the pages late into the night." -Angie Kim, author of Miracle Creek

"Bazelon knows her way around a courtroom and unfolds one surprise after another while deftly exploring motherhood and the often crushing expectations that come with raising a family, not to mention the condescending treatment of women in a largely male workplace... A taut, nail-biting courtroom drama." -Kirkus Reviews

"Attorney Bazelon's fiction debut is a powerhouse legal thriller, giving Abby a depth and breadth of backstory rare in first novels. Fans of Tana French, Scott Turow, and Lisa Scottoline will gravitate to Bazelon's tautly paced and richly detailed novel, an exploration of ambition, responsibility, and the sacrifices of motherhood." -Booklist, starred review