A Gentleman's Murder

Available

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.87
Publisher
Inkshares
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.75 X 8.11 X 1.26 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781942645955

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Christopher Huang is academic Professor of Cell Physiology at the University of Cambridge.

Reviews

"Huang's impressive debut will delight fans of golden age detective fiction... plotting, characters, and atmosphere are all top-notch." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Huang surrounds his engaging lead character with a meaty supporting cast, many of whom quickly become suspects with tantalizing motives. The mystery itself is clever and should keep even the most experienced whodunit finders guessings. We hope [this] will be only the first of many Eric Peterkin adventures." --Booklist

"A mystery that recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction. With fresh characters and unique twists, Huang has created a whodunit with just the right mix of old and new." --Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter

"With a steady hand and a sharp eye, Christopher Huang brings a lost world gloriously back to life, skewers it, and uses it to spin an irresistible tale. A Gentleman's Murder offers a rare treat for modern fans of the Golden Age." --Catriona McPherson, Agatha, Anthony, Macavity and Lefty winning author of the Dandy Gilver series

"Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang. A Gentleman's Murder echoes the traditional mysteries in the best sense: no car chases or explosions, just great characters and a feel for time and place." --Rhys Bowen, New York Times-bestselling author of The Tuscan Child and two-time winner of the Agatha Award

"Settings and atmosphere captured perfectly from nearly a century ago, complex characters, and a compelling mystery--Christopher Huang's A Gentleman's Murder is a must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." --Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library

"A dazzlingly atmospheric debut that transports you to 1920s London. A Gentleman's Murder is a meticulous mystery that will keep you guessing until the end and please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." --Sarah Nivala, Book Soup

"A locked room traditional mystery that does justice to its inspirations, even as it aids in the genres continuing evolution." --CrimeReads

"In A Gentleman's Murder, we have gentlemen murdering gentleman in a war-exhausted England trying to rebuild itself into something new." --Carolyn Haley, New York Journal of Books

"For fans of mysteries who would like an updated Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers." --Liberty Hardy, Book Riot

"Christopher Huang's debut novel, A Gentleman's Murder, is set in post-First World War England, but incorporates themes--race, the psychic toll of war--seldom acknowledged in classic mysteries of that era." --Ian McGillis, The Montreal Gazette