A Fortress in Shadow: A Chronicle of the Dread Empire

Glen Cook (Author)


  • The second and final book in the Dread Empire Box Set Series
  • Ideal for fans of Diamonds in the Shadow, Harriet Steel, In the Shadow of the Sword, and Black Raven Chronicles
  • Follows the journey of El Murid, the Disciple, while trying to uncover his vision for a desert empire

While once, long ago, a mighty kingdom reigned, all is now chaos. Deep in the desert, a young heretic narrowly escapes certain death and leaves for a mission of glory and madness. He is El Murid, also called the Disciple. He promises to bring prosperity, righteousness, and order to the desert people of Hammad al Nakir. They have waited for El Murid for 400 years. They have wanted a savior who can build a new empire by defeating their enemies. But El Murid is not everything he appears to be, and the dark and evil forces pulling the strings of empire come into the forefront. Who and what lie behind El Murid's vision of a desert empire?

The Dread Empire is a gritty world filled with larger-than-life plots, maddening magic, bizarre creatures, nation-shattering conflict, and painfully honest and flawed heroes. All of this is when through the remarkable filter of Glen Cook's war-correspondent prose. Shadows linger in the Dread Empire, and people live in sorcery's shadow. Glen Cook's brilliant writing brings the Dread Empire to life and pulls the reader into this dark world.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Product Details

$15.95  $14.67
Night Shade Books
Publish Date
August 01, 2008
5.9 X 1.2 X 8.9 inches | 0.95 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, attended the University of Missouri, and was one of the earliest graduates of the well-known Clarion workshop SF writers. Since 1971 he has published a large number of Science Fiction and fantasy novels, including the Dread Empire series, the occult-detective Garrett novels, and the very popular Black Company sequence that began with the publication of The Black Company in 1984. Among his science fiction novels is A Passage at Arms. After working many years for General Motors, Cook now writes full-time. He lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.