A Dying Note

Ann Parker (Author)
Available

Description

Best of the West 2019 - 1st Place in Mystery by True West Magazine
2018 - CIPA EVVY Winner for Mystery/Crime/Detective
2018 - CIPA EVVY 2nd Place for Historical Fiction

In the next book in the Silver Rush mysteries, Inez Stannert struggles to solve the murder of a young musician. But in finding answers, she unwittingly opens the door to her dark past...

It's autumn of 1881, and Inez Stannert is settled in San Francisco with her young ward, Antonia Gizzi. Inez has turned her business talents to managing a music store, working closely with a celebrated local violinist. The music notes of her new life are aligning perfectly...

Until the badly beaten body of a young musician washes up on the filthy banks of San Francisco's Mission Creek canal. Inez and Antonia become entangled in the mystery of his death when the musician turns out to have connections that threaten to expose Inez's notorious past. And while Inez is willing to play "madam detective" to protect herself, she isn't the only one searching for answers. San Francisco detective Wolter Roeland de Bruijn has also been tasked with ferreting out the perpetrators and dispensing justice in its most final form.

In this thrilling addition to the Silver Rush mystery series, time grows short as Inez races to solve the murder of a young musician. But her investigation uncovers long-hidden secrets and unsettled scores. With lives and reputations on the line, the tempo rises until the investigation's final, dying note.

The critically acclaimed and award-winning Silver Rush mystery series is:
  • Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Sandra Dallas
  • For readers who enjoy historical fiction and Western themed mysteries
  • Other Titles in the Silver Rush Mysteries Series:
    Silver Lies
    Iron Ties
    Leaden Skies
    What Gold Buys
    A Dying Note
    Mortal Music

    Product Details

    Price
    $18.99
    Publisher
    Poisoned Pen Press
    Publish Date
    April 03, 2018
    Pages
    384
    Dimensions
    5.7 X 1.0 X 8.9 inches | 0.95 pounds
    Language
    English
    Type
    Paperback
    EAN/UPC
    9781464209819

    Earn by promoting books

    Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

    Become an affiliate

    About the Author

    Ann Parker is the author of the awardwinning Silver Rush historical mystery series set in 1880s Colorado, featuring saloon owner Inez Stannert. A science writer by day, Ann lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Women Writing the West. www.annparker.net

    Reviews

    "Set in 1881, Parker's exuberant sixth Silver Rush mystery brims with fascinating period details, flamboyant characters, and surprising plot twists." - Publishers Weekly
    "Parker, whose grandparents lived in Leadville, has a real knack for making us feel as though we have been transported to another time and place, and her characters breathe life into the vividly evoked landscape. A fine entry in a series that deserves more attention.
    " - Booklist
    "The San Francisco setting is richly described, giving the reader a fascinating glimpse of the period. This is not a fast-paced story, but one that provides clues to the crimes committed, along with a surprising conclusion." - Historical Novel Society
    "By far the best of the mysteries featuring Parker's clever heroine. In addition to its historical interest, it provides a more complex problem to solve and leaves open a future in which her crime solver works with a mysterious new partner." - Kirkus Reviews