A Borrowing of Bones: A Mystery

Paula Munier (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$7.99  $7.35
Publisher
Minotaur Books
Publish Date
August 27, 2019
Pages
464
Dimensions
4.1 X 6.7 X 1.3 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Mass Market Paperbound
EAN/UPC
9781250229489

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

PAULA MUNIER is the author of the bestselling Plot Perfect, The Writer's Guide to Beginnings, Writing with Quiet Hands, and Fixing Freddie: A True Story of a Boy, a Mom, and a Very, Very Bad Beagle. She was inspired to write A Borrowing of Bones by the hero working dogs she met through MissionK9Rescue, her own Newfoundland retriever mix rescue Bear, and a lifelong passion for crime fiction. She lives in New England with her family, Bear, and a torbie tabby named Ursula.

Reviews

"Munier's perfectly paced tale crackles with fast-paced dialogue and elegant descriptions that would make the likes of John Hart and James Lee Burke proud. But it's her writing about animals, dogs in particular, that truly sparkles and distinguishes her from the pack." --Jon Land, Booktrib

"Comparisons may be made between Munier's debut mystery and Margaret Mizushima's Timber Creek K-9 mysteries. A stronger read-alike is Julia Spencer Felming's mysteries featuring Rev. Clare Fergusson, another female veteran. The believable dogs, the touches of humor, the independent, determined Mercy, and well-crafted characters will bring readers back." --Library Journal (starred review and debut of the month)

"The portrayal of working dogs will appeal to fans of David Rosenfelt and Margaret Mizushima. The blend of lovingly detailed setting and lively characters, both human and canine, makes this a series to watch." --Publishers Weekly

"Finally, a suspense novel that combines my two loves: a thrilling police procedural, assisted by two fabulous working dogs. A one-sit read that will make you happy you did." --Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Look for Me

"A compelling mix of hard edges and easy charm - I loved this book." --Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"A Borrowing of Bones is a nuanced nail-biter with a compelling quartet of crime fighters: two extraordinary rescue and rescued dogs and their human handlers." -- Hallie Ephron, New York Times bestselling author of You'll Never Know, Dear

"This is why we read crime fiction! The immensely talented Paula Munier had me at page one with indelibly drawn characters in a heartbreaking, compelling and incredibly intelligent story. Plus, the greatest dogs on the planet. Fans of William Kent Krueger and C.J. Box will devour this terrific book." --Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony, Mary Higgins Clark and Macavity Award-Winning Author

"Who let the dogs out? Paula Munier did, in a terrific new mystery thriller about two admirably resilient human characters and their smart, sturdy, resourceful canine sidekicks, who track a collection of murderous suspects across the glorious Green Mountains of Vermont. Come for the action and the mystery, stay for all the other pleasures of a novel that will keep you turning pages right up to the satisfying final passages." --William Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Back Bay and Bound for Gold

"Paula Munier has that special gift for bringing fictional dogs to life, and she's just as adept with humans. I read this book in one sitting, and so will you. A Borrowing of Bones is a terrific mystery." --Spencer Quinn, New York Times bestselling author

"Wow! I couldn't put it down. (Warning: Don't start this one at bedtime.) Paula is an artist. Her prose is breathtaking, the story compelling, the pace exhilarating. Truly, I loved it. A Borrowing of Bones is an exultant exploration of decency, honor, and patriotism. Beautifully crafted, thoroughly enjoyable." --Jane K. Cleland, Agatha Award-winning author

"If you love dogs and mysteries, you have two reasons to love A Borrowing of Bones. Paula Munier's page turner is made even more memorable by her keen insight and love of dogs." --Larry Kay, award-winning dog author of Training the Best Dog Ever and Life's A Bark

"An entertaining, escapist retreat." --Shelf Awareness

"A novel that hooks the reader from the first page and begins a projected series, A Borrowing of Bones shines as a paean to veterans and service dogs." --Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star

"This fast-paced and intoxicating drama immediately grabbed my attention and I was immersed in all aspects from plot-line to character development to the dialogue to just about everything. The author knows how to keep this reader involved by creating a complex and determine yet flawed heroine..." --Dru's Book Musings, Best Books of 2018