500 Words or Less (Reprint)

Available

Description

"Compelling." --School Library Journal
"Moving." --Publishers Weekly
"Poignant." --Kirkus Reviews

A high school senior attempts to salvage her reputation among her Ivy League-obsessed classmates by writing their college admissions essays and in the process learns big truths about herself in this mesmerizing debut novel-in-verse, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Nic Chen refuses to spend her senior year branded as the girl who cheated on her charismatic and lovable boyfriend. To redefine her reputation among her Ivy League-obsessed classmates, Nic begins writing their college admissions essays.

But the more essays Nic writes for other people, the less sure she becomes of herself, the kind of person she is, and whether her moral compass even points north anymore.

Provocative, brilliant, and achingly honest, 500 Words or Less explores the heartbreak and hope that marks the search for your truest self.

Product Details

Price
$12.99  $11.95
Publisher
Simon Pulse
Publish Date
February 11, 2020
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.4 X 0.9 X 8.0 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781534410459
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Juleah del Rosario is Chamorro and Filipina, and lives in Colorado where she works as a librarian. She is the author of 500 Words or Less and Turtle under Ice. Her favorite animal is and always has been a turtle.

Reviews

"This compelling novel in verse encourages deep thought and conversation. Fans of Perfect by Ellen Hopkins will devour this timely and addictive read." --School Library Journal

"Del Rosario's poems are accessible, and Nic proves herself a keen observer of the world around her, an adept interrogator of her own self, and a philosopher who considers how and why life happens the way it does." --Publishers Weekly

"Thoughtfully introspective." --Booklist

"In poignant verse, the moments of anguish, loneliness, and hope ring true." --Kirkus Reviews